Skip to main content

條款和細則

1.1. 本次比賽由詹姆士•戴森基金會組織和管理,該基金會在英格蘭和威爾士註冊,註冊號為1099709 (「JDF」)。

1.2. 本條款和條件調整參賽者參加名為詹姆士•戴森設計獎的比賽(「JDA」)。

1.3. 所有參賽者一經參加和提交參賽作品(定義如下)即同意完全受本條款和條件約束。

1.4. 禁止戴森集團公司和/JDF的雇員(及其家庭成員)參加JDA

1.5. 如超出其控制的原因妨礙JDA管理或適當參賽,JDF保留自行酌情取消或中止JDA的權利。

1.6. JDF對於發生阻止其接收和/或評選參賽作品的郵寄、技術或自然條件不承擔責任。

1.7. 本條款和條件應在所有方面受英國法律管轄。對於產生於本條款或條件或JDA或與其相關的所有(合同或非合同)爭議,各方不可撤銷地服從英國法院管轄。

1.8. JDF保留權利可隨時在其網站www.jamesdysonaward.org(「網站」)公佈最新條款和條件對本條款和條件進行變更,無需另行通知。

1.9. 若本條件與條款以英文以外語言提供者,若有任何衝突或不一致之處將以英文版本為依。

2.1. 在符合第2.2條規定的情況下,參加JDA的所有參賽者在提交作品之日必須年滿18周歲且符合以下任一條件:

2.1.1. 就其提交的參賽作品而言,屬於可參賽國家(定義如下)教育機構工程、設計或相關專業註冊本科/學士或碩士學生(且已註冊該學科至少一個學期);或

2.1.2. 在其提交參賽作品前4年內,已從可參賽國家教育機構工程、設計或相關專業本科/學士或碩士畢業。

2.2. 就團隊參賽作品而言,在提交參賽作品之日,所有團隊成員必須年滿18周歲,且至少有一名團隊成員滿足第2.1條規定的參賽標準,該團隊方有資格參加JDA。在提交參賽作品之日,就其提交的參賽作品而言,所有其他團隊成員必須是大學學生或在之前4年內從可參賽國家教育機構任何專業畢業。團隊參選項目之參選團隊最多可達 10 人。

2.3. JDF合理要求,所有參賽人員應及時提供其符合本第2條規定參賽資格的書面證明。在不損害JDF可享有的任何其他權利或救濟的情況下,如參賽者無法提供使JDF合理滿意的該等證明,或如JDF在其他方面發現參賽者不符合參賽資格,則JDF有權(自行酌情):

2.3.1. 拒絕接受參賽作品;

2.3.2. 終止參賽者(或該參賽者的團隊)參加JDA

2.3.3. 拒絕向參賽者(或該參賽者的團隊)授予獎項;或

2.3.4. 要求立即償還授予參賽者(或該參賽者的團隊)的任何獎金。

2.4. 就第2.3條而言,除非JDF另行書面約定,下列檔應被視為參賽者符合參賽資格的適當證明檔案格式可為.doc.pdf .jpeg):

2.4.1. 參賽者導師或講師聲明參賽者在特定大學修習特定課程的經簽署信函複件;

2.4.2. 參賽者的學位證書;或

2.4.3. 參賽者所在教育機構向JDF簽發的確認參賽者所在地和學位名稱的信函。

2.5. JDF組織JDA的國家(「可參賽國家」)列於其網站上。JDF可自行酌情不時更新可參賽國家名單。

3.1. 參賽者如參加JDA應向網站提交其發明(「發明」)介紹(「參賽作品」)。參賽者應確保其參賽作品至少包括以下內容: 

3.1.1. 發明名稱,其將出現在與發明相關的所有通訊和媒體報導中;

3.1.2. 發明簡介(不超過200英文單詞),概述其主要目的和功能,說明其解決的問題和發明原理;

3.1.3. 介紹發明靈感以及參賽者的個人動機;

3.1.4. 介紹發明原理;

3.1.5. 介紹參賽者/團隊的發明過程;

3.1.6. 介紹發明的新穎性,包括介紹其與市場上其他產品的不同之處;

3.1.7. 介紹發明未來規劃,包括進一步的設計開發;

3.1.8. 低解析度圖像,包括(但不限於):

3.1.8.1. 示意圖;

3.1.8.2. 計畫;

3.1.8.3. 3D模型或原型(可選);及

3.1.8.4. 逼真3D CAD 繪圖(可選);及

3.1.9. 一張白色背景高解析度(300dpi)發明圖像

3.2. 參賽者應儘量提供一段展示其概念和原型的視頻。

3.3. 參賽者提交的所有參賽作品書面文檔應使用英文。亦可提交參賽者母語版本的參賽作品。

3.4. 參賽者可就多份發明提交參賽作品,但不得一份發明提交多份參賽作品。

3.5. JDF不接受含有褻瀆、色情、淫穢圖片或參照或侵犯第三方權利(包括但不限於智慧財產權)的參賽作品。JDF保留權利可拒絕其認為不完整的參賽作品或含有不適當內容或參賽檔英文水準不足的參賽作品。

3.6. 參賽者參加JDA即同意參賽作品(包括第3.1條和第3.2條規定的所有材料)將向公眾公開,且可由公眾在包括網路的所有媒介進行分享。在符合第3.7條規定的情況下,參賽者進一步同意JDF就參賽作品對參賽者不負有保密義務。

3.7. JDF應對所有參賽者的聯絡資訊保密,且未經參賽者書面同意不得向第三方披露。參賽者同意,其負責確保參賽作品不含有聯絡資訊或其他個人可識別資訊,且如參賽者未如此行事JDF不承擔責任。

3.8. JDF合理要求,參賽者應提供發明相關材料(包括但不限於模型和原型)以供展覽和展示。JDF應承擔該等材料往返的運輸費用,並應就所有物品的損失和損害投保。與JDA相關任何公開和推介活動及隨後的頒獎活動結束後,所有物品應返還其所有者。

3.9. JDF保留權利(可自行酌情)聯絡參賽者,在其提交參賽作品後要求其進行變更和/或提供額外資訊,以確保該參賽作品符合第3.1條規定的最低要求。

4.1. 網站開放接收參賽作品的時間是自2018327日起至20187月20日美國東部標準時間1159分止。JDF不負責且不接受此後提交的任何參賽作品。

4.2. 在 2018 年 8 月將由各地區之評審團隊選擇各參選國家至多 5 項最佳發明。JDF 將確保評審為設計學者或專家,且發明將根據其優勢與品質進行評選

4.3. JDF應確保在符合第3.7條規定的情況下不得向評委透露參賽者聯絡資訊。地方裁判委員會將選擇總計高達81項發明(由各可參賽國家的五項發明組成)(「候選人名單」)。候選人名單將進行第二輪評判。各地方評委委員會亦將從候選人名單中選擇一項發明作為各可參賽國家的「國家冠軍」。

4.4. 在第二輪中,由行業委員會對候選人名單進行進一步審查,行業委員會由戴森集團(Dyson group)公司具有豐富經驗的工程師組成,其將從候選人名單中評選出前20項發明(「決賽候選人名單」)。JDF應確保僅依據其對主題的契合度評選決賽候選人名單– 不必從各可參賽國家評選出一份參賽作品。

4.5. 詹姆士•戴森先生將(自行酌情)從決賽候選人名單中評選出國際JDA獲獎冠亞軍。

4.6. 國際JDA冠軍將于201810月宣佈。

4.7. 國際JDA冠軍獲得的獎品是:

4.7.1. 向獲獎個人或團隊獎勵30,000英鎊;

4.7.2. 向獲獎者學習或曾學習的教育機構獎勵5,000英鎊;和

4.7.3. 詹姆士•戴森設計獎證書。

4.8. 國際JDA亞軍獲得的獎品是:

4.8.1. 向參賽者(或團隊,視情況而定)獎勵5,000英鎊;和

4.8.2. 詹姆士•戴森設計獎證書。

4.9. 各可參賽國家全國冠軍獲得的獎品是:

4.9.1. 向參賽者(或團隊,視情況而定)獎勵2,000英鎊;和

4.9.2. 詹姆士•戴森設計獎證書。

4.10. 所有現金獎勵應以參賽者本國貨幣按照宣佈相關獎項獲得者當日匯率予以支付。JDF應在宣佈相關獎項獲獎者後60日內向獲獎者指定銀行帳戶付款(或促致付款)。向團隊支付現金獎勵的,JDF將向指定銀行帳戶付款,不負責在團隊成員間分配獎金。

4.11. 如獲獎者或獲獎者所在機構(視情況而定)拒絕接受獎項,JDF將(自行酌情)決定如何分配獎金(如有),且獲獎者和獲獎者所在機構對獎金或其分配不具有任何權利。

4.12. 所有參賽者承認:

4.12.1. JDF不參與或影響發明的評判過程;且

4.12.2. 評委的決定為最終決定並具有約束力,無需進行進一步通訊或討論。

5.1. JDA不負責獲得或核實與發明相關的任何智慧財產權。參賽者有責任在提交相關參賽作品前就參賽發明獲得保護。參賽作品中應提及任何專利、設計應用或註冊、商標應用或註冊,其他權利、許可或應用的證明。

5.2. 各參賽者提交參賽作品即確認其是該項發明所有相關智慧財產權(和精神權利)的所有人或被許可人。

5.3. 對於JDF/或戴森集團公司因參賽者(無論如何產生)(直接或間接)侵犯第三方智慧財產權而遭受或產生的所有費用、支出(包括律師費)、損害、損失或責任,參賽者應向JDF和戴森集團公司進行全額賠償、使其獲得賠償並免受損害。為避免疑義,團隊提交參賽作品的,各團隊成員在本協議項下的責任應為連帶責任。

5.4. 在符合第5.4條規定的情況下,各參賽者特此授予JDF全球範圍內不可撤銷、永久且免使用費的許可(包括轉許可),其可出於宣傳和推介JDA/JDF的目的使用、展示、出版、散佈和修改參賽作品中提交的材料。

5.5. 發明中的所有智慧財產權應始終(在各方之間)屬於參賽者的財產。本條款和條件中任何規定或參賽者參加JDA不得被視為向JDF或任何第三方(包括但不限於戴森集團公司)讓與或許可發明中的任何智慧財產權。

6.1. 本條款和條件中任何規定均不得被視為限制或排除任何一方對因該方疏忽、欺詐造成死亡或人身傷害的責任,或法律規定不得予以有效限制或排除的任何其他責任。

6.2. 在符合第6.1條規定的情況下,JDF對(無論如何產生的)任何間接或由結果產生的損失或損害不承擔責任。

6.3. 在不損害其可能享有的任何其他權利或救濟的情況下,因參賽者違反本條款和條件或因使JDF/或戴森集團公司陷入爭議,JDF有權發出書面通知終止參賽者(或其團隊)參加JDA

6.4. 參賽者可隨時向JDF發出書面通知從JDA撤回參賽作品。團隊提交參賽作品的,除非且直至各團隊成員均書面通知JDF其撤回參賽作品,否則不得視為撤回參賽作品。

7.1. 參賽者提交參賽作品即明確授權JDF出於管理JDA的目的使用其在註冊過程中收集的個人資料。JDF應根據其隱私政策(見網站)和所有相關法律法規收集、存儲、使用和處理參賽者的個人資料。參賽者有權隨時通過向JDF發送電子郵件或信件獲取或變更JDF持有的其個人資料。

7.2. 未經參賽者事先書面同意,JDF不得向第三方披露參賽者的個人資料。

8.1. 所有參賽者同意應JDF合理書面請求在任何可參賽國家參加與JDA相關任何宣傳或推介活動以及此後的頒獎活動。JDF應承擔參賽者的交通和住宿費用,並將(在提供合理證明的情況下)報銷參賽者因參與該等獲得而產生的所有合理支出。

End of main content. Return to top of main content.

Skip to main content

Terms and Conditions

1.1. This competition is organised and administered by the James Dyson Foundation, a charity registered in England and Wales under number 1099709 (the JDF”).

1.2. These terms and conditions govern entrants’ participation in the competition known as the James Dyson Award (the JDA).

1.3. By participating in and submitting an Entry (as defined below) to the JDA, all entrants agree to be bound by these terms and conditions in full.

1.4. Entry into the JDA is prohibited for employees (and their families) of the Dyson group of companies and/or the JDF.

1.5. The JDF reserves the right, in its sole discretion, to cancel or suspend the JDA should causes beyond its control interfere with the administration of or proper participation in the JDA.

1.6. The JDF assumes no responsibility for postal, technical or natural conditions that prevent the reception and/or judging of an Entry.

1.7. These terms and conditions shall in all respects be governed by English law. The parties irrevocably submit to the exclusive jurisdiction of the English courts in respect of all disputes (whether contractual or non-contractual) arising out of or in connection with these terms and conditions or the JDA.

1.8. The JDF reserves the right to amend these terms and conditions at any time without notice by publishing updated terms and conditions at www.jamesdysonaward.org (the “Website”).

1.9 Where these terms are provided in a language other than English, in the event of any conflict or inconsistency the English version of these terms shall apply. 

2.1. Subject to clause 2.2, in order to be eligible to enter the JDA all entrants must, on the date on which their Entry is submitted, be at least 18 years of age and either:

2.1.1. be enrolled on an undergraduate/bachelor or postgraduate course of study in either engineering, design or a related discipline (and have been enrolled on such course of study for at least one semester) at an institution situated in the Eligible Country (as defined below) in respect of which their Entry is submitted; or

2.1.2. have graduated from an undergraduate/bachelor or postgraduate course of study in either engineering, design or a related discipline at an institution situated in the Eligible Country in respect of which their Entry is submitted within the preceding four years

2.2. In the case of team Entries, on the date on which their Entry is submitted all team members must be at least 18 years of age and at least one team member must fulfill the eligibility criteria set out in clause 2.1 for the team to be eligible to enter the JDA. All other team members must, on such date, be university-level students or have graduated within the preceding four years from a course of study in any discipline at an institution in the Eligible Country in respect of which their Entry is submitted. Team entries are restricted to a maximum of 10 members. 

2.3. All entrants shall, on reasonable request by the JDF, promptly provide written evidence that they meet the eligibility criteria set out in this clause 2. Without prejudice to any other right or remedy which the JDF may have, in the event that an entrant is unable to provide such evidence to the JDF’s reasonable satisfaction, or if it otherwise comes to the JDF’s notice that an entrant does not meet the eligibility criteria, the JDF shall be entitled (at its discretion) to:

2.3.1. reject an Entry;

2.3.2. terminate an entrant’s (or that entrant’s team’s) participation in the JDA;

2.3.3. refuse to award a prize to an entrant (or that entrant’s team); or

2.3.4. require the repayment forthwith of any monetary prize awarded to an entrant (or that entrant’s team).

2.4. For the purposes of clause 2.3, unless otherwise agreed in writing by the JDF, the following documents shall be considered to be appropriate evidence that entrants meet the eligibility criteria (in .doc, .pdf or .jpeg format):

2.4.1. a copy of a signed letter from the entrant’s tutor or lecturer stating they attend a particular course within a particular university;

2.4.2. the entrant’s degree certificate; or

2.4.3. a letter from the entrant’s educational institution to the JDF confirming the entrant’s place and degree title.

2.5. The countries in which the JDA is operated by the JDF (each an “Eligible Country”) are set out on the Website. The list of Eligible Countries may be updated from time to time by the JDF at its discretion.

3.1. In order to enter the JDA, entrants shall upload a profile of their invention (“Invention”) to the Website (an “Entry”). Entrants should seek to ensure that their Entry includes as a minimum:

3.1.1. the name of the Invention, which will appear on all communication and media coverage concerning the Invention;

3.1.2. a succinct description (no longer than 200 words) of the Invention, outlining its principal purpose and function, which should describe the problem solved and how the Invention does this;

3.1.3. an explanation of the inspiration behind the Invention, along with the entrant’s personal motivation;

3.1.4. an explanation of how the Inventions works;

3.1.5. an explanation of the development process that the entrant/team took to develop the Invention;

3.1.6. an explanation of what makes the Invention different, including an explanation of how it is different to other products already on the market;

3.1.7. an explanation of future plans for the Invention, including further design development;

3.1.8. low resolution images including (without limitation):

3.1.8.1. sketches;

3.1.8.2. plans;

3.1.8.3. 3D models or prototypes (optional); and

3.1.8.4. photo-realistic 3D CAD renderings (optional); and

3.1.9. one high res (300dpi) image of the Invention on a white background.

3.2. Entrants shall endeavour to also provide a video of the concept or prototype in action.

3.3. Entrants shall submit all written elements of an Entry in the English language. A version of the Entry in the Entrant’s mother tongue may also be submitted.

3.4. Entrants may submit Entries for as many Inventions as they wish, but may not submit more than one Entry per Invention.

3.5. The JDF will not accept Entries which include profanity, pornography, indecent images or references or which infringe the rights of third parties (including without limitation intellectual property rights). The JDF reserves the right to reject any Entry it considers (acting reasonably) to be incomplete or to contain inappropriate content, or which is not submitted with a sufficient standard of English.

3.6. By entering the JDA, the entrant accepts that the Entry (including all materials described in clause 3.1 and 3.2) will be made publicly available and will be capable of being shared by members of the general public across any and all media channels including the Internet. Subject to clause 3.7, the entrant further accepts that the JDF has no duty of confidence to the entrant regarding the Entry.

3.7. The JDF shall keep all entrants’ contact details confidential and shall not disclose them to third parties without the written consent of the entrant. Entrants accept that they are responsible for ensuring that their Entry does not contain contact details or other personally identifiable information and the JDF shall have no liability in the event of the entrant’s failure in this regard.

3.8. Entrants shall, on the JDF’s reasonable request, make materials regarding the Invention (including without limitation models and prototypes) for exhibition and display purposes. The JDF shall cover the cost of transporting such materials to and from desired locations and shall insure items against loss and damage. All items will be returned to the owner once any publicity and promotional activity surrounding the JDA and future awards has finished.

3.9. The JDF reserves the right (at its sole discretion) to contact entrants to request amendments and/or additional information following submission of an Entry to ensure that such Entry meets the minimum requirements set out in clause 3.1.

4.1. The Website will open for entries from 27 March 2018 and close on 20 July 2018 at 11.59 EST. The JDF is not responsible for and will not accept any Entry received after this time.

4.2. During August 2018 a panel of local judges in each region will select up to five Inventions from each Eligible Country which they consider to be the best. The JDF shall ensure that the judges will be academics or professionals with design acumen and that Inventions will be judged purely on their merits and quality. 

4.3. The JDF shall ensure that, subject to clause 3.7, contact details of entrants will not be available to judges. A total of up to 81 Inventions will be selected by the local judging panels (consisting of up to five Inventions from each Eligible Country) (the “Shortlist”). The Shortlist will go through to a second round of judging. Each panel of local judges will also select one Invention from the Shortlist as the “national winner” from each Eligible Country. 

4.4. During the second round, the Shortlist will be further scrutinised by an industry panel comprising experienced engineers from the Dyson group of companies, who will reduce the shortlist to the Inventions which they consider to be the best 20 (the “Final Shortlist”). The JDF shall ensure that the Final Shortlist will be selected purely on the merits of how well they respond to the brief – there will not necessarily be one entry selected from each Eligible Country. 

4.5. Sir James Dyson will select (at his discretion) the international JDA winner as well as the international JDA runners-up from the Final Shortlist. 

4.6. The international JDA winner will be announced in October 2018. 

4.7. The prize for the international JDA winner is: 

4.7.1. £30,000 for the winning individual or team;  

4.7.2. £5,000 for the institution where the winner studies or previously studied; and 

4.7.3. a James Dyson Award Certificate. 

4.8. The international JDA runners-up will receive: 

4.8.1. £5,000 to the entrant (or as applicable the team); and 

4.8.2. a James Dyson Award Certificate. 

4.9. The national winner from each Eligible Country will receive: 

4.9.1. £2,000 to the entrant (or as applicable the team); and 

4.9.2. a James Dyson Award Certificate. 

4.10. All monetary prizes shall be payable in the entrants’ local currency at the exchange rate applicable on the day on which the winner of the relevant prize is announced. The JDF shall pay (or shall procure the payment of) all applicable amounts into the bank account(s) nominated by the winner within 60 days of the winner of the relevant prize being announced. Where a monetary prize is payable to a team, the JDF will pay the amount due into the nominated bank account and will have no responsibility for dividing such amount between team members.  

4.11. In the event that the winner, or as applicable the winner’s institution, refuses the prize, the JDF will decide (at its discretion) how the prize money will be distributed (if at all) and neither the winner nor the winner’s institution will have any rights in respect of the prize money or its distribution. 

4.12. All entrants accept:  

4.12.1. the JDF has no involvement in or influence over the judging process of Inventions; and 

4.12.2. the judges’ decisions as final and binding, and no further correspondence or discussion will be entered into.

5.1. The JDA is not responsible for obtaining or verifying any intellectual property rights relating to an Invention. It is the responsibility of the entrant(s) to secure protection for an Invention which is being entered before submission of the relevant Entry. Proof of any patents, design applications or registrations, trademark applications or registrations, other rights, permissions or applications should be referred to in the Entry.

5.2. By submitting an Entry, each entrant confirms that they are the owner or licensee of all appropriate intellectual property (and moral rights) in the Invention. 

5.3. The entrant shall fully indemnify, keep indemnified and hold harmless the JDF and the Dyson Group of companies against all costs, expenses (including legal expenses), damages, losses or liabilities suffered or incurred by the JDF and/or the Dyson group of companies (howsoever arising) as a result (directly or indirectly) of the entrant’s infringement of the intellectual property rights of a third party. For the avoidance of doubt, where the relevant Entry is submitted by a team, the liability of each team member under this clause shall be joint and several.  

5.4. Subject to clause 5.4, each entrant hereby grants the JDF a worldwide, irrevocable, perpetual and royalty-free licence (with right to sub-license) to use, display, publish, disseminate and adapt the materials submitted in an Entry for the purposes of advertising or promoting the JDA and/or the JDF. 

5.5. All intellectual property rights in the Invention shall at all times remain (as between the parties) the property of the entrant(s). Nothing in these terms and conditions or an entrant’s participation in the JDA shall operate to assign or license any intellectual property rights in the Invention to the JDF or any third party (including without limitation the Dyson group of companies).

6.1. Nothing in these terms and conditions shall be deemed to limit or exclude the liability of any party for death or personal injury caused by that party’s negligence, fraud, or any other liability which cannot by law be validly limited or excluded. 

6.2. Subject to clause 6.1, the JDF shall have no liability (howsoever arising) for any indirect or consequential loss or damage. 

6.3. Without prejudice to any other right or remedy which it may have, the JDF shall be entitled, on written notice, to terminate the participation of an entrant (or their team) in the JDA for breach of these terms and conditions or for bringing into disrepute the JDF and/or the Dyson group of companies.  

6.4. An entrant may at any time withdraw an Entry from the JDA on written notice to the JDF. When an Entry has been submitted by a team, an Entry shall not be deemed to be withdrawn unless and until each team member has notified the JDF of this in writing.

7.1. By submitting an Entry, entrants expressly authorise the JDF to use personal data collected during the registration process for the purposes of administering the JDA. The JDF shall collect, store, use, handle and process entrants’ personal data in accordance with its privacy policy (available on the Website) and all applicable laws and regulations. Entrants shall be entitled at any time to access or amend their personal data held by the JDF by the means of an e-mail or letter addressed to the JDF.

7.2. The JDF will not pass on the entrant’s personal data to third parties without the entrant’s prior written consent.

8.1. All entrants agree to take part, on the JDF’s reasonable written request, in any publicity or promotional activity surrounding the JDA and future awards in any Eligible Countries. The JDF shall meet the costs of entrants’ transport and accommodation and will reimburse (subject to the provision of reasonable evidence) all reasonable expenses incurred by entrants as a result of participating in such activities.

End of main content. Return to top of main content.