Skip to main content

如何参赛

迈出第一步

戴森设计大奖给予新兴设计工程师在事业起步阶段的支持。如果你现在是一戴森设计大奖支持年轻的设计工程师迈出事业的第一步。如果你是一名大学生或新近毕业生,有着解决问题的想法,我们希望听到你的想法。 不论是简单的或是完善的模型,我们都会重视,我们将制作适合大众市场的样品。别担心,参赛过程很简单。

参赛资格

谁可以参赛?

戴森设计大赛对所有工程学、产品设计,工业设计和相关专业的在读大学生以及最近四年的毕业生开放。我们会要求查看证明文件。

如果你不想单独参赛;或者如果你学习的是其他专业,但有一个精彩的想法;你仍然可以作为团队的一员加入比赛。团队队长必须正在就读(或在过去4年内就读过)工程学、产品设计或工业设计专业。所有小组成员必须(或在过去四年内)在上述专业的本科或研究生课程中学习过一个学期。


参与国家和地区

发明没有限制

所以我们不限制你来自哪里。

并且要求就读院校需要来自以下国家或地区:澳大利亚,奥地利,比利时,加拿大,中国大陆,法国,德国,香港,印度,爱尔兰,意大利,日本,马来西亚,荷兰,新西兰,俄罗斯 ,新加坡,韩国,西班牙,瑞士,台湾,英国,美国, 墨西哥, 菲律宾, 瑞典, 阿联酋。

获奖者

成功案例

了解大赛过往的获奖者,了解他们参与戴森设计大奖以来的经历。

了解戴森设计大奖获奖者

评审流程

如何评审作品

  1. 七月
    九月
    第一阶段

    由当地设计和工程专业人员组成的团队将从您所在的国家或地区选择最多五个参赛作品进入下一阶段。其中一个参赛作品将被宣布为全国组冠军,并将获得现金奖。

    评审团将完全以参赛作品的影响力来进行评价,而不仅仅是发明本身。评价准则包括设计意义、设计进程、以及产品研发过程。参赛工程师应该以循序渐进的方式进行设计,反复尝试、从错误中吸取经验的方法会对你有所帮助。

  2. 九月
    第二阶段

    在这一阶段,由戴森工程师组成的专家小组对地区评委选定的参赛作品进行筛选,选出20个国际组比赛作品。他们根据设计是否符合比赛要求,以及是否具有商业化可行性做考虑-- 你的产品是人们想要的东西吗?你可以以合理的价格制造吗?

  3. 十月
    第三阶段

    这20个作品将进入最后一轮评选,由詹姆士戴森先生亲自评审。詹姆士将审阅每项作品,并选出自己最欣赏的一项。戴森知识产权团队将对所有入选总决赛的作品进行审查,以确认作品是否侵犯第三方知识产权。

    掌握以上信息后,詹姆斯亲自挑选了国际组冠军及亚、季军。

    无论你是否被选为胜利者,我们都尊重你的知识产权。戴森不会窃取你的想法,也不会从你的想法中获利。

常见问题

你可能会有这些问题

最好的设计工程师总会提出好的问题。 我们把最常见的问题及回答总结在这里。

提交作品

所需信息

要参赛前,首先需要注册并上传证明,证明你是一名学生或刚毕业的合格毕业生,一旦注册成功,你需要填写我们的在线表格。 需要你告诉我们:

  • 你的发明是做什么的
  • 你有灵感的地方
  • 怎么运行的
  • 你如何开发你的设计
  • 它的独特之处
  • 前景预测

这些信息将呈现在项目介绍中。 因此请像对待大学学校的任务一样认真对待它。和任何其他文章一样,你需要制定一个计划,得到别人的反馈,并在提交之前对其进行校对。

请用英文提交这些信息。如果你愿意,你也可以用其他几种语言之一提交一份。

图片

你最多可以上传五张图片来支持你的参赛作品,其中包括一张特征图片。每张照片最多可达3MB 你也可以分享早期草图、CAD渲染和初始原型、以及成品的图像(如果有的话)。

确保附上高质量的图,能清楚地展示你如何构思你的想法。 你上传的特征图像将出现在我们的作品栏中,并且必须是 1440 px x 810 px。 理想情况下,这张图片显示的应是你的最终产品设计。

视频

一些奖项参与者通常会附带一个视频。 这常常有助于解释一个想法或项目,但是如果你没有视频,你也不会因此降低分数。视频应该少于3分钟,并显示设计的开发过程以及原型。你需要先将视频上传到YouTube或Vimeo。

查看往届大赛获奖者的成功案例


End of main content. Return to top of main content.

Skip to main content

How to enter


The James Dyson Award supports budding design engineers at the start of their careers. If you’re a current student or recent graduate with an idea that solves a problem, we want to hear about it. We’ll be equally impressed by rough-and-ready prototypes as we will by mass market-ready samples. Don't worry, the entry process is simple.

  • Subscribe to our newsletter

Eligibility requirements

Who can enter?

The James Dyson Award is open to current university students of engineering, product design and industrial design – and those who have graduated in these subjects in the last four years. We'll ask to see official documentation that proves it.

If you don't want to work alone, or if you studied something else but have a brilliant idea you want to share, you can still enter as part of a team. Your team leader must have studied one of the qualifying subjects, and all team members must be (or have been within the last four years) enrolled for at least one semester in an undergraduate or graduate programme.

Participating countries and regions

Invention knows no limits

So we don't care where you're from.

However, all entrants must have undertaken their studies in one of the following countries:

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, France, Germany, Hong Kong, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, the Philippines, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom and the United States.

Past winners


Meet some of our past winners and learn about their experience since entering the James Dyson Award.

Hear from past winners



  1. Jul
    Stage 1

    A panel of local design and engineering professionals will select up to five entries from your country or region to progress to the next stage. One of these will be declared the National Winner, earning a cash prize.

    Projects are judged on the strength of the entry, not just the invention itself. You’ll need to communicate the significance of your invention, but also how the product was developed and how you reached your final design. Demonstrating an iterative, trial-and-error approach will serve you well.

  2. Sep
    Stage 2

    At this point, a panel of Dyson engineers pour over entries chosen by the national judges, whittling them down to just 20. They look at how well each entry answers the brief, keeping commercial viability in focus – is your product something that people will want, and you can manufacture at a reasonable price?

  3. Oct
    Stage 3

    The final 20 entries are reviewed in detail by James Dyson himself. Selecting his favourites, they are then scrutinised by Dyson’s intellectual property team for any legal infringements (e.g. on third party patents).

    Armed with this information, James hand-selects the winner of the grand prize, plus up to two runners-up.

    Whether or not you are chosen as the winner, we respect your intellectual property. Dyson will not steal or profit from your idea, full stop.

Frequently asked questions


The best design engineers always do. So we've pulled together the most common on our FAQs page.

Structuring your entry


To enter, you'll first need to register and upload proof that you're a student or recent graduate in one of the qualifying subjects.

Once registered, you'll need to complete our online form. We'd like you to tell us:

  • What your invention does
  • Where you got your inspiration
  • How it works
  • How you developed your design
  • What sets it apart
  • What the future holds for it

This information is what we'll present, word for word, in our Project Gallery. So treat it as seriously as you would a university assignment. As with any essay, you should make a plan, get feedback from others, and proofread it before submitting.

You must submit the entry in English. If you wish, you can also submit a copy in one of several other languages.


You can upload up to five images, of up to 3MB each, to support your entry, including one feature image. You might want to share early sketches, CAD renderings and initial prototypes, plus an image of the finished product (if you have one).

Make them high quality, and have a look at past entries for inspiration on how to frame your idea. Your feature image will be the one which appears in our project gallery and must be a minimum of 1440px x 810px. Ideally this image should show your final product design.


Some award entrants include a video. These often help to explain an idea or project, but you won't be marked down if you don't have one. Videos should be less than 3 minutes long and show both the development process of the design and your prototype in action. You'll need to upload your video to YouTube or Vimeo first.

Take a look at our gallery of past winners for examples of successful entries.

End of main content. Return to top of main content.